Additives
Thickener
A list of food additives used as thickener. Each additive is clearly marked if it is vegan friendly or not. Any banned additives are marked in red. We have found this extremely helpful when looking up ingredients of products to determine if they are vegan friendly or not. You can use the filter below to narrow your search down.
Disclaimer
Food ingredients, nutrition and recipes change frequently. It is highly recommended that you double check the product labels. This list is based on products found at our local supermarkets in Australia. Check your store for details and availability.
Some of the products may contain traces of animal products due to the manufacturing process or equipment used, however, their actual ingredients are vegan friendly. We advise you double check the product labels if this may concern you.
If you believe a product should be added or removed, please contact us
Some of the products may contain traces of animal products due to the manufacturing process or equipment used, however, their actual ingredients are vegan friendly. We advise you double check the product labels if this may concern you.
If you believe a product should be added or removed, please contact us
Code | Name | Category | Notes | Vegan |
---|---|---|---|---|
1400 | Dextrins | Thickener | From dextrose | Yes |
1401 | Acid treated starch | Thickener | Treated starch with acids | Yes |
1402 | Alkaline treated starch | Thickener | Treated starch with alkalins (sodium or potasium hydroxide) | Yes |
1403 | Bleached starch | Thickener | Treated starch with bleaching agents | Yes |
E1404 | Oxidised starch | Thickener | Treated starch with hypochlorite | Yes |
E1410 | Mono-starch phosphate | Thickener | Treated starch with phosphoric acid | Yes |
1411 | Di-starch glycerol | Thickener | Treated starch with glycerol | Yes |
E1412i | Di-starch phosphates | Thickener | Treated starch with phosphorylating agent trimetaphosphate | Yes |
E1412ii | Di-starch phosphates | Thickener | Treated starch with phosphorylating agent phosphoroxychloride | Yes |
E1413 | Phosphatylated di-starch phosphate | Thickener | Treated starch with phosphorylating agent and phosphoric acid | Yes |
E1414 | Acetylated di-starch phosphate | Thickener | Treated starch with phosphorylating agent and acetic acid | Yes |
E1420 | Starch acetate | Thickener | Treated starch with acetic acid | Yes |
1421 | Starch acetate | Thickener | Treated starch with vinylacetate | Yes |
E1422 | Acetylated di-starch adipate | Thickener | Treated starch with acetic and adipinic acid | Yes |
1423 | Acetylated di-starch glycerol | Thickener | Treated starch with acetic acid and glycerol | Yes |
E1440 | Hydroxypropylstarch | Thickener | Treated starch with propyleneoxide | Yes |
1441 | Hydroxypropyl-di-starch glycerol | Thickener | Treated starch with propyleneoxide, epichlorhydrine and glycerol | Yes |
E1442 | Hydroxypropyl-di-starch phosphate | Thickener | Treated starch with propyleneoxide and phosphoric acid | Yes |
E1450 | Starch sodium octenyl succinate | Thickener | Treated starch with octenylsuccinate | Yes |
E400 | Alginic acid | Thickener | Derived from seaweed | Yes |
E401 | Sodium alginate | Thickener | Derived from seaweed | Yes |
E402 | Potassium alginate | Thickener | Derived from seaweed | Yes |
E403 | Ammonium alginate | Thickener | Derived from seaweed | Yes |
E404 | Calcium alginate | Thickener | Derived from seaweed | Yes |
E405 | Propane-1,2-diol alginate | Thickener | Propylene ester of alganic acid | Yes |
Sponsored | ||||
405 | Propylene glycol alginate | Thickener | Derived from petroleum | Yes |
E406 | Agar | Thickener | Derived from seaweed. Substitute for gelatin. | Yes |
E407 | Carrageenan | Thickener | Extracted from seaweed | Yes |
408 | Furcelleran | Thickener | Extracted from seaweed | Yes |
E410 | Locust bean gum/Carob gum | Thickener | Derived from a tree | Yes |
E411 | Oat gum | Thickener | Produced from oats | Yes |
E412 | Guar gum | Thickener | Derived from the seeds of a tree | Yes |
E413 | Tragacanth | Thickener | Resin from a tree | Yes |
E414 | Gum arabic | Thickener | Derived from sap of a tree | Yes |
E415 | Xanthan gum | Thickener | From fermentation of corn sugar and bacteria or from whey. Animal derived enzymes may be used in the processing stages. For more information see https://simplifyvegan.com.au/market/xanthan- | No |
E416 | Karaya gum | Thickener | Derived from a tree | Yes |
E417 | Tara gum | Thickener | From tree | Yes |
E418 | Gellan gum | Thickener | From bacteria fermentation | Yes |
E422 | Glycerol | Thickener | Derived from decomposition of natural fats with alkalis | Yes |
E440 | Pectin | Thickener | Occurs naturally in apple skin | Yes |
441 | Gelatin | Thickener | From animal by-products (bones, hides). Recently re-classified as food, not an additive. | No |
E460 | Cellulose | Thickener | From plant cell walls | Yes |
E461 | Methyl cellulose | Thickener | From cellulose (plant cell walls) | Yes |
462 | Ethyl cellulose | Thickener | From cellulose (plant cell walls) | Yes |
E463 | Hydroxypropyl cellulose | Thickener | From cellulose (plant cell walls). Banned in Australia. | Yes |
E464 | Hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose | Thickener | From cellulose (plant cell walls) | Yes |
E465 | Methylethyl cellulose | Thickener | From cellulose (plant cell walls) | Yes |
E466 | Carboxymethyl cellulose | Thickener | From cellulose (plant cell walls) | Yes |
E485 | Gelatin | Thickener | See 441 | No |